Davis Law Group, P.A.

Call Today For a Free Consultation

Local
919-939-2105
Toll Free
888-773-8388
View Our Practice Areas

New NC Motor Vehicle Laws

On Friday, there will be five new motor vehicle provisions under North Carolina law. WLOS ABC News Channel 13 recently reported on what residents in and around Asheville need to know about the changes. Listed below are the five new provisions and how they'll impact drivers in Western North Carolina and across the state.

  1. Liability Insurance for Registered Mopeds
  2. Fee for Late Registration Renewal
  3. Permanently Disabled Drivers Do Not Need to Recertify
  4. Regular Vehicle Financing to Use Electronic Lien System
  5. Franchise Dealers Can Use Loaner Plates

Liability Insurance for Registered Mopeds

Under the new law, registered mopeds will be required to carry liability insurance. If you fail to provide proof of insurance to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (NCDMV), your license plate can be revoked.

Fee For Late Registration Renewal

If you're registration isn't renewed by the expiration date, you will have to pay a late fee. The fees will be added starting the first day of the month following the expiration date. Although there is a 15-day grace period, where you can drive on an expired registration without being ticketed, drivers in North Carolina will now be facing these fines.

Permanently Disabled Drivers Do Not Need to Recertify

Under the new law, drivers who are permanently disabled will not be required to recertify their windshield disability placards every five years. Additionally, a disability determination issued by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs may be used for medical certification and recertification requirements for handicapped parking placards.

Regular Vehicle Financing to Use Electronic Lien System

For those that normally engage in financing motor vehicles, they will be required to use the electronic lien system to record information about the security interest in the automobile.

Franchise Dealers Can Use Loaner Plates

Under the new law, franchise vehicle dealers will now have the option of getting loaner plates for $200 for vehicles used while the dealer is servicing an owner's vehicle. The new loaner plates will be optional until December 31, 2018, when they become mandatory for all franchise dealers.

The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles has plenty of additional information, including more details on the new provisions.

If you have been injured or if you have lost a loved one in a car accident in Asheville or in any of the surrounding Western North Carolina communities, contact Davis Law Group, P.A. at 866-397-2897 for a free consultation.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

How Can We Help You?

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

1 North Pack Square
Suite 412
Asheville, NC 28801

Toll Free: 866-397-2897
Phone: 828-303-2842
Asheville Law Office Map

Review Us